Gay Marriage Laws in American States

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Gay Marriage Facts & Statistics and other Gay Marriage topics.

What are the gay marriage laws in American states?

Gay Marriage Laws in American States

Massachusetts is the only state in America that will perform a same-sex wedding. You may travel to Massachusetts to be married – however, be careful to check your local laws and gay marriage facts to make sure that your marriage will be recognised at home. Couples wishing to marry in Massachusetts must file a Notice of Intent to Marry and wait three days. Marriage law in Massachusetts also denies marriage licences to couples whose home states have a ban on gay marriage.

Nineteen states – Alaska, Nevada, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Nebraska, Missouri, Michigan, North Dakota, Ohio, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Georgia, Mississippi, Texas and Alabama - have banned gay marriage.

Vermont, California, New Jersey, District of Columbia and Connecticut are the only U.S. states to offer same-sex couples all or some of the state-level rights and benefits of marriage. Hawaii and Maine's domestic partnership and reciprocal benefit laws provide some but not all benefits.

Marriages performed in Canada still need to be recognized in your home state.



12/14/2008 6:18:21 PM
amy gonzalez said:

this tip is O.K. but who will want to drive all the way to massachusettes

1/5/2009 2:06:21 PM
Erica said:

GAY MARRIAGES SHOULD BE ILLEGAL IT IS SO STUPid God made adam and eve 2 represent man with women not man with man or opposites

6/28/2011 2:51:24 PM
kathy said:

This tip is totally out dated. This site needs to be brought up to 2011.

5/26/2015 10:00:24 AM
harley said:

I think if they love each other very much then you should let them be married


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Gay Marriage Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Sherril Steele-Carlin