States That Ban Gay Marriage

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Gay Marriage in US and other Gay Marriage topics.

What states currently ban gay marriage?

States That Ban Gay Marriage

Gay marriage legislation in the US is constantly under attack from appeals to change state constitutions to explicitly ban gay marriage. At present, Alaska, Nevada, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Nebraska, Missouri, Michigan, North Dakota, Ohio, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana, Arkansas, Georgia, Mississippi, Texas and Alabama have constitutional amendments that ban gay marriage. As a state's constitution is a strong part of the law, this makes legalizing gay marriage a more difficult task in these states.

Hawaii changed its state constitution as well, but only to redefine marriage as between opposite-sex partners.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Gay Marriage Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Jerry Mayo