Countries That Allow Same-Sex Adoption

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Gay Adoption and other Gay Marriage topics.

What countries allow same-sex adoption?

Countries That Allow Same-Sex Adoption

Countries that allow same-sex adoption include England and Wales, the Netherlands, Iceland, Belgium, Spain, Sweden, South Africa, and Andorra. Germany, Israel, Denmark and Norway allow partners in civil unions to adopt the natural or sometimes adopted child of the other partner. France has a law that both same-sex parents have parental rights over the biological child of one partner, reducing the significance of biological parenthood in a sperm donation situation.

In America, California, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Massachusetts, Washington state, Washington, D.C., Wisconsin, Vermont and New Mexico allow gay couples to adopt. Likewise, in Canada, adoption laws vary from state to state, but most states have gay adoption rights in some form.

The ACT, Tasmania and Western Australia allow same-sex couple adoption in Australia. Legislation in New Zealand may soon be introduced to allow gay couples to adopt.



4/25/2009 1:09:09 PM
Linda said:

Canada does not have states, they are provinces.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Gay Marriage Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Susan Sayour